Tier III NOx comes to Europe

The International Maritime Organization’s Marine Environment Protection Committee has established the next two NOx Emission Control Areas (NECAs) - the Baltic Sea and the North Sea.

The two NECAs, which were the subject of applications seeking simultaneous designation, will be enforced from 1 January 2021. Ships with keels laid after that date will be required to meet dramatically reduced NOx emission limits, requiring either exhaust gas after treatment (selective catalytic reduction or exhaust gas recirculation) or use of LNG.

The new NECAS will become the second batch to be enforced globally, after the North American and Caribbean NECAs were established on 1 January 2016.

As reported, delegates representing the Baltic and North Sea applications presented summaries of impact and cost-benefit analyses during a lunchtime session at the MEPC meeting earlier this week.


Mercator Media upgrades magazines and conferences brands

February 2018 Fareham UK - Mercator Media Ltd, the international, market-leading B2B marine media bu... Read more

P&E 2017 deemed a resounding success

Taking place between the 10th-11th May, the 2017 conference welcomed high calibre speakers, delegate... Read more

Gas Fuelled Ships 2017 highlights long-term viability of LNG

Insights into the future of LNG and other lowflash point fuels offered at The Motorship’s 2017 Confe... Read more

View all