Ship Efficiency Awards 2014

09 Oct 2014

The winners of the inaugural ‘Ship Efficiency Awards’ were announced earlier this month, following two days of discussion and debate during the fourth annual ‘Ship Efficiency: The Event’ in London, UK.

The awards, organised by Fathom and hosted with event partner Lloyd’s Register, showcased a range of individuals and companies committed to streamlining operations and shaping the future towards a greener and more efficient industry.

“We know that we have a very effective shipping transport sector, but we have competition from all sides, in a very competitive transport industry,” said Arsenio Dominguez, chairman, IMO MEPC, who officially opened the awards. “We keep hearing about how environmental awareness is increasing, how we have to increase safety and security and this becomes a challenge for our industry. But the reality is that this is nothing new, it happens all the time and we have to face competition every year, every hour.”

“Why not take into account all the effort, all the investment, all the time that goes into R&D and embrace technology and innovation and use it in a way to move forward towards that outcome that we all share – better environmental protection, a very competitive and efficient market, safe and secure ships on clean oceans. It is events like this that bring us all together to share our experiences to achieve this,” Mr Dominguez added.

The winners for each category were: Eniram, which took home the Energy Efficiency Solution Award; Hempel AS, which won the Environmental Technology Award; Corvus Energy, which won Initiative of the Year; Maersk Line, which won Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year; B9 Shipping, The One to Watch; and Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency Award went to =Dr Anne-Marie Warris, Ecoreflect.

Entries for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2015 will open in February 2015.

Links to related companies and recent articles ...